Tag Archives: 2011 Cricket World Cup

Live – Ind vs Eng, 11th Match, Group B, Bengaluru (Draw)

Zaheer Khan: Strauss batted really well, he put pressure on us and it was a cliffhanger. Always knew that 340 was a big enough score to win, we thought we will win it easily, it was a close contest between the bat and ball.


49.6 Munaf Patel to Swann, 1 run, What a sensational game this has been! Swann drives a fuller delivery to extra cover and takes a single before Yusuf throws it back to Dhoni, scores level and both teams take one point each, Yusuf did well to dive to his left and throw the ball back, had he not been sharp, they could have taken two, this is the 4th tie in the history of World Cups
Both batsmen have a mini conference, Dhoni is ringing in the changes in the field
2 runs off one ball, if they take a single it will be a tie and points will be shared.
49.5 Munaf Patel to Swann, 2 runs, Swann flays one to mid wicket, they run hard, complete two!
49.4 Munaf Patel to Shahzad, byes, 1 run, Shahzad misses it and they sneak a single as Dhoni can’t hit the stumps, he threw it to the bowler
49.3 Munaf Patel to Shahzad, SIX!!, What a hit! Will Shahzad be the last minute hero?smacks a fuller delivery straight down the ground, chose the safest place! Just clears the ropes
Chants of India India doing the rounds
49.2 Munaf Patel to Swann, 1 run, Munaf Patel keeps his cool, slower one, Swann opens the face of the bat and steers it late, straight to Sehwag at short third man
49.1 Munaf Patel to Swann, 2 runs, fuller one on the off stump, Swann backs away and drives it wide of Raina at extra cover takes two, 12 off 5 needed now
Ajmal Shahzad, right handed bat, comes to the crease
Fourteen runs off 6 balls needed




Live: Cricket World Cup Opening Ceremony in Dhaka

8.15 – That’s all for now. The opening ceremony has ended. The World Cup kicks off with the India vs Bangladesh match in Mirpur on Tuesday noon. Yahoo will be covering every match live.

8.06Bryan Adams bows out with 18 Till I Die. Next are Shankar Ehsaan Loy with the official song of the World Cup. Here are the lyrics to De Ghumake.

Ramesh Srivats tweets: I really hope Bryan Adams sings “18 till I die” and the camera quickly cuts to Afridi. #WC11

7.52 – Bryan Adams is next. He begins with Summer of 69. Next is Let’s Make A Night To Remember. Mercifully, he’s not lip-syncing like some of the previous singers.

7.28 Runa Laila leads a group of Bangladeshi singers. The crowd is dancing to Mast Kalandar.

7.04 – Sri Lankan performers Bathiya, Santush and Iraj take their turn to sing about their country.

6.59 – Film tunes from around India are being played as dancers perform to them. Rang De Basanti is on now.

6.41 – Bangladesh prime minister Sheikh Hasina declares the World Cup 2011 open. Fireworks, music ensue.

6.26 – A bevy of ministers make long, impassioned speeches. This is a big moment for the country. Next up is Sharad Pawar, president of the ICC.

6.14 Sonu Niigam is done singing ‘Let’s go for glory’. Let’s also go for a haircut?

6.05 – The loudest cheers were reserved for MS Dhoni and Shakib Al Hasan.

6.02 pm – Stumpy the elephant has done a round of the stadium. Now it’s the captains who are riding around the ground in rickshaws.

5.45 pm IST – The opening ceremony of the 2011 cricket World Cup is underway at the Bangabandhu Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

There’s been a rendition of the Bangladeshi national anthem to kick off proceedings.

There’s a packed audience at the ground. Bryan Adams, Sonu Niigam, Shankar Ehsaan Loy are slated to perform today.

Source: http://in.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/17/live-cricket-world-cup-opening-ceremony-dhaka/

2nd Match. Group A – Kenya v New Zealand


Kenya 1st Innings – All out

Obanda lbw b Southee
19 0 0
Waters lbw b Bennett
42 1 0
Obuya lbw b Bennett
19 2 0
Tikolo b Bennett
2 0 0
Ouma lbw b Bennett
6 0 0
Patel not out
23 1 0
Kamande c B McCullum b Oram
16 0 0
Odoyo c Ryder b Oram
6 0 0
Odhiambo b Southee
6 0 0
Obado lbw b Southee
1 0 0
Otieno c Styris b Oram
4 0 0
Extras 1nb 2w 4b 3lb 10
Total all out 69 (23.5 ovs)
Southee 6.0 0 13 3
N McCullum 4.0 0 15 0
Bennett 5.0 0 16 4
Vettori 6.0 1 16 0
Oram 2.5 1 2 3
Fall of wicket
14 Obanda
40 Waters
42 Tikolo
44 Obuya
49 Ouma
59 Kamande
63 Odoyo
68 Odhiambo
68 Obado
69 Otieno
New Zealand 1st Innings – Close

Guptill not out
32 5 2
B McCullum not out
17 4 0
Extras 1nb 3w 2b 1lb 7
Total for 0 72 (8.0 ovs)
Odoyo 3.0 0 25 0
Otieno 2.0 0 18 0
Kamande 2.0 0 21 0
Odhiambo 1.0 0 5 0

Umpires: Erasmus, R J Tucker, R S Mahanama
Kenya: Waters, Obanda, Obuya, Tikolo, Ouma (W), Patel, Kamande (C), Odoyo, Odhiambo, Obado, Otieno
New Zealand: Guptill, B McCullum (W), Ryder, Taylor, Styris, Franklin, Oram, N McCullum, Vettori (C), Southee, Bennett


India Vs Bangladesh Full Highlights Cricket World Cup 2011

%d bloggers like this: