Tag Archives: Shakib Al Hasan

Live: Cricket World Cup Opening Ceremony in Dhaka

8.15 – That’s all for now. The opening ceremony has ended. The World Cup kicks off with the India vs Bangladesh match in Mirpur on Tuesday noon. Yahoo will be covering every match live.

8.06Bryan Adams bows out with 18 Till I Die. Next are Shankar Ehsaan Loy with the official song of the World Cup. Here are the lyrics to De Ghumake.

Ramesh Srivats tweets: I really hope Bryan Adams sings “18 till I die” and the camera quickly cuts to Afridi. #WC11

7.52 – Bryan Adams is next. He begins with Summer of 69. Next is Let’s Make A Night To Remember. Mercifully, he’s not lip-syncing like some of the previous singers.

7.28 Runa Laila leads a group of Bangladeshi singers. The crowd is dancing to Mast Kalandar.

7.04 – Sri Lankan performers Bathiya, Santush and Iraj take their turn to sing about their country.

6.59 – Film tunes from around India are being played as dancers perform to them. Rang De Basanti is on now.

6.41 – Bangladesh prime minister Sheikh Hasina declares the World Cup 2011 open. Fireworks, music ensue.

6.26 – A bevy of ministers make long, impassioned speeches. This is a big moment for the country. Next up is Sharad Pawar, president of the ICC.

6.14 Sonu Niigam is done singing ‘Let’s go for glory’. Let’s also go for a haircut?

6.05 – The loudest cheers were reserved for MS Dhoni and Shakib Al Hasan.

6.02 pm – Stumpy the elephant has done a round of the stadium. Now it’s the captains who are riding around the ground in rickshaws.

5.45 pm IST – The opening ceremony of the 2011 cricket World Cup is underway at the Bangabandhu Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

There’s been a rendition of the Bangladeshi national anthem to kick off proceedings.

There’s a packed audience at the ground. Bryan Adams, Sonu Niigam, Shankar Ehsaan Loy are slated to perform today.

Source: http://in.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/17/live-cricket-world-cup-opening-ceremony-dhaka/

India vs Bangladesh World Cup 2011 Scoreboard


Virender Sehwag b Shakib Al Hasan 175
Sachin Tendulkar run out (Al Hasan/Rahim) 28
Gautam Gambhir b Mahmudullah 39
Virat Kohli not out 100
Yusuf Pathan c Mushfiqur Rahim b Shafiul Islam 8
Extras: (b-1, lb-2, w-16, nb-1) 20
Total: (for four wickets in 50 overs) 370

Fall of wickets: 1-69 (Tendulkar, 10.5 overs), 2-152 (Gambhir, 23.2), 3-355 (Sehwag, 47.3), 4-370 (Pathan, 49.6)


Shafiul Islam 7 0 69 1
Rubel Hossain 10 0 60 0
Abdur Razzak 9 0 74 0
Shakib Al Hasan 10 0 61 1
Naeem Islam 7 0 54 0
Mahmudullah 7 0 49 1


Tamim Iqbal c Yuvraj Singh b Patel 70
Imrul Kayes b Patel 34
Junaid Siddique st Dhoni b Harbhajan Singh 37
Shakib Al Hasan c Harbhajan Singh b Pathan 55
Mushfiqur Rahim c sub (Raina) b Khan 25
Raqibul Hasan not out 28
Mahmudullah b Patel 6
Naeem Islam lbw b Patel 2
Abdur Razzak lbw b Khan 1
Shafiul Islam run out (Harbhajan Singh)0
Rubel Hossain not out 1
Extras: (lb-10, w-13, nb-1) 24
Total: (for nine wickets in 50 overs) 283
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Imrul Kayes, 6.5 overs), 2-129 (Junaid Siddique, 23.1), 3-188 (Tamim Iqbal, 32.1), 4-234 (Shakib Al Hasan, 39.4), 5-248 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 42.3), 6-261 (Mahmudullah, 44.3), 7-275 (Naeem Islam, 46.3), 8-279 (Abdur Razzak, 47.6), 9-280 (Shafiul Islam, 48.3)


S.Sreesanth 5 0 53 0
Zaheer Khan 10 0 40 2
Munaf Patel 10 0 48 4
Harbhajan Singh 10 0 41 1
Yusuf Pathan 8 0 49 1
Yuvraj Singh 7 0 42 0

%d bloggers like this: